Do you read your Bible regularly?

Quick note: Even if this post isn’t for you specifically, if you’ve ever struggled to help other believers get into the Bible, you’ll probably love all the links in this post.

A lack of Bible literacy today

I was just looking at a LifeWay survey that concluded Americans are fond of the Bible, though most don’t actually read it. This isn’t exactly shocking news, of course. I mean, I was wrestling with trying to get church members to read their Bibles back when I was a pastor fifteen years ago.

However, I think it’s a bit unfair to simply ask, “Do you read the Bible?” and never ask, “Has anyone ever taught you how to read your Bible?” After all, reading the Bible isn’t like reading James Patterson or Nora Roberts. The Bible isn’t mere entertainment—it’s not a novel—and so, you can’t approach it like one.

That’s not to say the Bible is any less engaging than George R. R. Martin. I mean, do you honestly think people will be reading the Game of Thrones series in another 2,000 years? And even if they did, do you think they’d find anything new? I doubt it. I think anything that can be said about his books will have been said long before that.

Yet two millennia later (and even longer if you start with the oldest books of the Bible), people are not only studying the Bible, but still discovering mind-blowing revelations in it! Here’s just one example. Yes, this video is a bit long (17 minutes) but if you watch it, I can almost guarantee it’ll totally turn your brain inside-out!

For the record, I showed the above video to a Hebrew scholar friend of mine, and he completely agreed with the interpretation. (He’s never seen those patterns before, but he wholeheartedly agreed with them.) And if that video rocked your socks off, then good news! I’ve actually posted that video before, along with a few others in this post.

You can’t just read it like a novel